7 Killer Horror Books About Murderous Animals

Seven terrifying horror books about animals that want you dead, giving “nature red in tooth and claw” an all-too-fresh meaning. […]

Read More…

January 31, 2022 General

Come Celebrate Middle Grade Horror Alongside the Horror Writers Association

Kids are braver and tougher than we think, and the Horror Writers Association’s new Stoker Award category for middle grade novels is a great reflection of that. […]

Read More…

January 28, 2022 Books

Tales From the Backlist: Sara Gran’s Come Closer is Waiting For You

Sara Gran’s 2003 novel Come Closer is still luring readers in nearly two decades later–Drew Broussard examines how the book weaves its propulsive spell. […]

Read More…

January 25, 2022 Books

Announcing The Scourge Between Stars, A New Novella from Ness Brown

Ness Brown’s The Scourge Between Stars, a tense, claustrophobic sci-fi/horror blend in the vein of Alien and Event Horizon, will be published by Nightfire in April 2023! […]

Read More…

January 19, 2022 Books, News

Scares Across America Part V: South Dakota to Washington D.C.

Travel across America with the fifth and final installation of our compendium of horror books set in every state of the union (plus Puerto Rico & Washington, D.C.). […]

Read More…

January 18, 2022 Books

Into the Night: The Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry of 2021

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet had to offer in 2021, from our monthly series. […]

Read More…

January 14, 2022 Books

In Defense of Space Horror

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes explores how and why horror set in space works, contrary to what you may have heard on Twitter. […]

Read More…

January 12, 2022 Books, On Screen

Keep Watching The Skies: 7 Strange Movies About Alien Abduction

Seven standout movies from the alien abduction genre, featuring everything from gonzo body horror to contemplative takes on humanity’s flaws and foibles. […]

Read More…

January 10, 2022 On Screen

In Defense of Wendy, Barbra, and the Traumatized Women of Horror Cinema

Why do we regard certain female characters in horror as weak just because they visibly suffer and grieve? Gwendolyn Kiste reexamines Wendy, Barbra, and representations of trauma. […]

Read More…

January 6, 2022 On Screen

This Month in New Horror Books: January 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in January 2022, featuring new books from V. Castro, Kristi DeMeester, Christopher Golden, and more! […]

Read More…

January 3, 2022 Books