Yaya Betancourt Dreams of Teeth (or, How to Kill a Toothy Darling)

Fresh off her Stoker Award win for Best First Novel, Hailey Piper shares an exclusive scene that was cut from Queen of Teeth. […]

Read More…

May 18, 2022 Books

Horror Punk’s Not Dead: The Adams Family Reinvents Horror Cinema on Their Own Terms

An ode to the punk genius of the Adams, the indie family filmmaking team behind Hellbender and The Deeper You Dig. […]

Read More…

May 17, 2022 On Screen

Dracula Daily is the Internet’s Biggest Book Club

How a newsletter about a 125 year-old novel about one British idiot’s travels to meet the most famous vampire in history took the internet by storm. […]

Read More…

May 10, 2022 Books, News

The Cultural (and Horror) Significance of Roger Corman

The prolific cult filmmaker Roger Corman has had an outsized impact on American film history–and especially horror. So why does he only have one film on the National Film Registry? […]

Read More…

May 5, 2022 On Screen

Download a Free Digital Preview of T. Kingfisher’s What Moves the Dead

Download a free sneak peek of The Twisted Ones author T. Kingfisher’s new Poe-inspired novella What Moves the Dead from your favorite retailer. […]

Read More…

May 3, 2022 Books, News

This Month in New Horror Books: May 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in May 2022, featuring new books from Tade Thompson, Hailey Piper, John Langan, KC Jones, Anne Heltzel, and more! […]

Read More…

May 2, 2022 Books

With Special Guest Star Vincent Price: The Horror Icon on TV

Vincent Price will always be a favorite of horror fans for his iconic star-turns in classic horror movies, like the Roger Corman Edgar Allan Poe films, The Abominable Dr. Phibes, […]

Read More…

April 21, 2022 On Screen

Into the Night: March 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

April 19, 2022 Books

Horror Is Metal: The Bloody Neon Shimmer of Synthwave

In this edition of her column on music and horror, Meghan Ball looks at synthwave’s nostalgic horror DNA, from John Carpenter to Carpenter Brut. […]

Read More…

April 7, 2022 Miscellaneous

This Month in New Horror Books: April 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in April 2022, featuring new books from Alma Katsu, Jennifer McMahon, Premee Mohamed, and more! […]

Read More…

April 1, 2022 Books

Announcing The Spite House, A New Novel from Johnny Compton

Johnny Compton’s The Spite House – a Black Southern Gothic in the vein of The Others meets A Headful of Ghosts – will be published by Nightfire in February 2023! […]

Read More…

March 28, 2022 Books, News

The Ghosts of Segregation: Interviewing India Hill Brown

India Hill Brown talks The Girl in the Lake, writing historical horror for middle grade and young adult audiences, and more! […]

Read More…

March 22, 2022 Books

Download a Free Digital Preview of Anne Heltzel’s Just Like Mother

Download a free sneak peek of HEX author Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s highly anticipated novel Echo from your favorite retailer. […]

Read More…

March 21, 2022 Books, News

Into the Night: February 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

March 21, 2022 Books

7 Medieval Horror Books For When You Need A Break From Elden Ring

From the Plague to the Crusades, here are seven tales of medieval horror and dark fantasy for when you need a break after that thirtieth loss to the Serpent King. […]

Read More…

March 17, 2022 Books

Polychromatic Perversity: Hypercolor, Vice, and Violence in Horror

Continuing her series on color in horror, Chelsea Davis looks at the otherworldly uses of hypersaturation in Heavenly Creatures, Dorian Gray, and more. […]

Read More…

March 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

Announcing Boys in the Valley, A New Novel from Philip Fracassi

Philip Fracassi’s Boys in the Valley – a chilling blend of The Exorcist, Lord of the Flies, and Midnight Mass – will be published by Nightfire in Summer 2023! […]

Read More…

March 8, 2022 Books, News

Tales From the Backlist: Anno Dracula is a Whole Introductory Course on Gothic Horror

Kim Newman’s vampire supergroup of a novel is still wildly influential thirty years later–and makes a perfect gateway into the gothic. […]

Read More…

March 7, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: March 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in March 2022, featuring new books from Catriona Ward, Matthew Lyons, Ally Wilkes, Ramsey Campbell, and more! […]

Read More…

March 1, 2022 Books

Seven Filmed Stories About Freaky Films

These movies and TV shows about dangerous fictional films need more than an MPAA rating–try a priest or a circle of salt instead. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2022 On Screen

Horror Is Metal: The Haunting of My Chemical Romance

In this edition of her column on music and horror, Meghan Ball examines how My Chemical Romance’s most iconic album came from a stay at a very haunted house. […]

Read More…

February 21, 2022 Miscellaneous

Summer Scares 2022, Coming Soon to a Haunted Library Near You

Konrad Stump, co-chair of the Horror Writers Association’s Library Committee, introduces the 2022 edition of the Summer Scares program! […]

Read More…

February 16, 2022 News

Reader Beware: The Art of Goosebumps is a Nostalgic Retrospective for Former Young Ghouls

Tim Jacobus’s iconic cover art shines in this comprehensive history of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series–it’s more fun than a day trip to Horrorland! […]

Read More…

February 10, 2022 Books

Adrift & Alone: The Five Ghost Ships That Haunt Me

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes on the ghost ships (both fictional and all-too-real) that haunt her nightmares, from the Event Horizon to the Lyubov Orlova. […]

Read More…

February 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

The Best Horror Short Story Collections and Anthologies of 2021

These eleven dark volumes of short fiction, some of 2021’s best, will give you a good push out from shore into the deeper, darker, and stranger waters. […]

Read More…

February 8, 2022 Books

Into the Night: January 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

February 3, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: February 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in February 2022, featuring new books from Sara Gran, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Gretchen Felker-Martin, and more! […]

Read More…

February 1, 2022 Books

7 Killer Horror Books About Murderous Animals

Seven terrifying horror books about animals that want you dead, giving “nature red in tooth and claw” an all-too-fresh meaning. […]

Read More…

January 31, 2022 General

Come Celebrate Middle Grade Horror Alongside the Horror Writers Association

Kids are braver and tougher than we think, and the Horror Writers Association’s new Stoker Award category for middle grade novels is a great reflection of that. […]

Read More…

January 28, 2022 Books

Tales From the Backlist: Sara Gran’s Come Closer is Waiting For You

Sara Gran’s 2003 novel Come Closer is still luring readers in nearly two decades later–Drew Broussard examines how the book weaves its propulsive spell. […]

Read More…

January 25, 2022 Books

Announcing The Scourge Between Stars, A New Novella from Ness Brown

Ness Brown’s The Scourge Between Stars, a tense, claustrophobic sci-fi/horror blend in the vein of Alien and Event Horizon, will be published by Nightfire in April 2023! […]

Read More…

January 19, 2022 Books, News

Scares Across America Part V: South Dakota to Washington D.C.

Travel across America with the fifth and final installation of our compendium of horror books set in every state of the union (plus Puerto Rico & Washington, D.C.). […]

Read More…

January 18, 2022 Books

In Defense of Space Horror

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes explores how and why horror set in space works, contrary to what you may have heard on Twitter. […]

Read More…

January 12, 2022 Books, On Screen

Keep Watching The Skies: 7 Strange Movies About Alien Abduction

Seven standout movies from the alien abduction genre, featuring everything from gonzo body horror to contemplative takes on humanity’s flaws and foibles. […]

Read More…

January 10, 2022 On Screen

In Defense of Wendy, Barbra, and the Traumatized Women of Horror Cinema

Why do we regard certain female characters in horror as weak just because they visibly suffer and grieve? Gwendolyn Kiste reexamines Wendy, Barbra, and representations of trauma. […]

Read More…

January 6, 2022 On Screen

This Month in New Horror Books: January 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in January 2022, featuring new books from V. Castro, Kristi DeMeester, Christopher Golden, and more! […]

Read More…

January 3, 2022 Books

Horror Is Metal: Jack, Sally, and the True Meaning of Christmas

In this edition of her column on music and horror, Meghan Ball explores the genre- and generation-defining weirdness of The Nightmare Before Christmas. […]

Read More…

December 21, 2021 Miscellaneous

Read the First Two Chapters of Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes

S.A. Barnes’ terrifying space horror novel Dead Silence hits shelves on Feb 8th, 2022, but you can read the first two chapters now! […]

Read More…

December 20, 2021 Books

Into the Night: November 2021’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

December 16, 2021 Books

Remembering Bill Landis, the Late, Great Scholar of Sleaze

Biographer Preston Fassel reintroduces the man behind the myth, the grandfather of modern genre criticism, Mr. Sleazoid himself: Bill Landis. […]

Read More…

December 14, 2021 Books, On Screen