Tales From the Backlist: Anno Dracula is a Whole Introductory Course on Gothic Horror

Kim Newman’s vampire supergroup of a novel is still wildly influential thirty years later–and makes a perfect gateway into the gothic. […]

Read More…

March 7, 2022 Books

Only the Lonely: 13 Classic Works of Isolation Horror

Road of Bones author Christopher Golden picks 13 essential works of isolation horror, from foundational frights to modern terrors. […]

Read More…

March 3, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: March 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in March 2022, featuring new books from Catriona Ward, Matthew Lyons, Ally Wilkes, Ramsey Campbell, and more! […]

Read More…

March 1, 2022 Books

Reader Beware: The Art of Goosebumps is a Nostalgic Retrospective for Former Young Ghouls

Tim Jacobus’s iconic cover art shines in this comprehensive history of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series–it’s more fun than a day trip to Horrorland! […]

Read More…

February 10, 2022 Books

Adrift & Alone: The Five Ghost Ships That Haunt Me

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes on the ghost ships (both fictional and all-too-real) that haunt her nightmares, from the Event Horizon to the Lyubov Orlova. […]

Read More…

February 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

The Best Horror Short Story Collections and Anthologies of 2021

These eleven dark volumes of short fiction, some of 2021’s best, will give you a good push out from shore into the deeper, darker, and stranger waters. […]

Read More…

February 8, 2022 Books

Into the Night: January 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

February 3, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: February 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in February 2022, featuring new books from Sara Gran, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Gretchen Felker-Martin, and more! […]

Read More…

February 1, 2022 Books

Come Celebrate Middle Grade Horror Alongside the Horror Writers Association

Kids are braver and tougher than we think, and the Horror Writers Association’s new Stoker Award category for middle grade novels is a great reflection of that. […]

Read More…

January 28, 2022 Books

Tales From the Backlist: Sara Gran’s Come Closer is Waiting For You

Sara Gran’s 2003 novel Come Closer is still luring readers in nearly two decades later–Drew Broussard examines how the book weaves its propulsive spell. […]

Read More…

January 25, 2022 Books

Announcing The Scourge Between Stars, A New Novella from Ness Brown

Ness Brown’s The Scourge Between Stars, a tense, claustrophobic sci-fi/horror blend in the vein of Alien and Event Horizon, will be published by Nightfire in April 2023! […]

Read More…

January 19, 2022 Books, News

Scares Across America Part V: South Dakota to Washington D.C.

Travel across America with the fifth and final installation of our compendium of horror books set in every state of the union (plus Puerto Rico & Washington, D.C.). […]

Read More…

January 18, 2022 Books

Into the Night: The Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry of 2021

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet had to offer in 2021, from our monthly series. […]

Read More…

January 14, 2022 Books

In Defense of Space Horror

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes explores how and why horror set in space works, contrary to what you may have heard on Twitter. […]

Read More…

January 12, 2022 Books, On Screen

This Month in New Horror Books: January 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in January 2022, featuring new books from V. Castro, Kristi DeMeester, Christopher Golden, and more! […]

Read More…

January 3, 2022 Books

Read the First Two Chapters of Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes

S.A. Barnes’ terrifying space horror novel Dead Silence hits shelves on Feb 8th, 2022, but you can read the first two chapters now! […]

Read More…

December 20, 2021 Books

Into the Night: November 2021’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

December 16, 2021 Books

Remembering Bill Landis, the Late, Great Scholar of Sleaze

Biographer Preston Fassel reintroduces the man behind the myth, the grandfather of modern genre criticism, Mr. Sleazoid himself: Bill Landis. […]

Read More…

December 14, 2021 Books, On Screen

Zoje Stage’s Escapist Adventure Getaway Thrills in Small Stretches

Zoje Stage’s backpacking thriller Getaway explores the limits of escapism, especially when the need for escape becomes frighteningly literal. […]

Read More…

December 9, 2021 Books

The Gift of Fear: 2021’s Best Gifts for Horror Fans

If you need the perfect gift for the horror reader in your life, these 30+ 2021 horror books will guarantee you champion gift-giver status. […]

Read More…

December 6, 2021 Books, On Screen

This Month in New Horror Books: December 2021

Check out the scariest new horror books out in December 2021, featuring new books from Samantha Kolesnik, Alex White, Victoria Nelson, and more! […]

Read More…

December 1, 2021 Books

Scares Across America Part IV: New Mexico to South Carolina

Travel across America with the fourth installation of our compendium of horror books set in every state of the union (plus Puerto Rico & Washington, D.C.). […]

Read More…

November 22, 2021 Books

Escape Rooms: 6 Intense Closed-Circle Horror Books

Six books that provide a great entry into the subgenre of closed-loop or closed-room horror, where events are confined to a finite space. […]

Read More…

November 18, 2021 Books

Announcing Tell Me I’m Worthless, A New Novel from Alison Rumfitt

Alison Rumfitt’s Tell Me I’m Worthless–an unflinching haunted house novel about fascism and the modern day trans experience–will be published by Nightfire in January 2023! […]

Read More…

November 17, 2021 Books, News

All the Horror Books We’re Excited About in 2022

Get your TBR list ready: we’ve rounded up all of 2022’s new horror books from Paul Tremblay, Alma Katsu, Gabino Iglesias, Sara Gran, Cassandra Khaw, and many more! […]

Read More…

November 15, 2021 Books

Announcing The Salt Grows Heavy, A New Novella from Cassandra Khaw

Cassandra Khaw’s The Salt Grows Heavy – a sharp, hungry mermaid tale full of creeping dread and delicious gore – will be published by Nightfire in May 2023! […]

Read More…

November 10, 2021 Books, News

Into the Night: October 2021’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

November 8, 2021 Books

Into the Night: September 2021’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

November 8, 2021 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: November 2021

Check out the scariest new horror books out in November 2021, featuring new books from Kim Newman, Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman, Steve Rasnic Tem, Ellen Datlow, Louise Erdrich, and more! […]

Read More…

November 1, 2021 Books

Introducing Gwendolyn Kiste’s Reluctant Immortals

We’re thrilled to share the cover and an exclusive excerpt from Gwendolyn Kiste’s Reluctant Immortals, coming August 2022 from Saga! […]

Read More…

November 1, 2021 Books

Fearful Felines: The Ten Spookiest Cats of Horror Fiction and Film

The horror genre has more than its fair share of spooky felines. In honor of Samhain, here are ten horror cats of film and page who deserve their eerie due.   […]

Read More…

October 28, 2021 Books, On Screen

A Genre for the Individual: Bethany Clift on Accidentally Writing a Horror Novel

Last One at the Party author Bethany Clift explores the indefinability of horror, her own formative experiences with fear, & realizing she’d written a horror novel. […]

Read More…

October 21, 2021 Books

Eight Strange Tales of Appalachian Gothic Weirdness

With its strange history, isolated communities, and a sense of place all its own, Appalachia represents the perfect backdrop for a uniquely American brand of folk horror. […]

Read More…

October 20, 2021 Books

Ellen Datlow’s Body Shocks Will Make You Uncomfortable in Your Own Skin

Body Shocks, edited by Ellen Datlow, contains 29 skin-crawling tales of body horror from Carmen Maria Machado, Brian Evenson, Alyssa Wong, and many more. […]

Read More…

October 19, 2021 Books

Old Ghosts and New Traumas Stalk Stuart Neville’s House of Ashes

In The House of Ashes, Stuart Neville’s first standalone novel in almost a decade, the greatest gift that one woman can offer another is to believe her. […]

Read More…

October 18, 2021 Books

No One Here Knows I’m a Vampire: A Spooky Matt Berry Reading List

In honor of the funniest man on television, the list you never knew you needed: what to read next based on your favorite Matt Berry project. […]

Read More…

October 14, 2021 Books, On Screen

The Couple That Slays Together: 5 of Horror’s Unlikeliest Duos

This Thing Between Us author Gus Moreno picks five of horror’s best odd couples, from Ben and Barbara to Clarice and Hannibal and beyond. […]

Read More…

October 13, 2021 Books

Cackle is a Darkly Charming Tale of Finding Magic in Female Friendship

Cackle, the sophomore novel from Rachel Harrison, is a witty tale of friendship and finding yourself – with a dark twist. […]

Read More…

October 12, 2021 Books

Frankenstein’s Manuscript, or: How to Write Satisfying Crossover Horror

The Death of Jane Lawrence author Caitlin Starling offers writing tips for creating crossover horror that respects both genres. […]

Read More…

October 6, 2021 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: October 2021

Check out the scariest new horror books out in October 2021, featuring new books from Cassandra Khaw, Rachel Harrison, Caitlin Starling, Christopher Golden, Josh Malerman, and more! […]

Read More…

October 1, 2021 Books