This Month in New Horror Books: March 2021

As the saying goes, March comes in like a lion – if that’s true, then it’s a particularly literate feline. Read on for March’s new horror books on sale this month, including new work from V. Castro, Stephen King, Premee Mohamed, Kevin Brockmeier, Jeffrey Ford, and more!

Also, a note: we’re continuously updating release dates and newly announced books both here and on our 2021 horror releases master post.


March’s new horror titles:

  • The Bishop of Hell and Other Stories, ​Marjorie Bowen (Mar 2): Marjorie Bowen was a prolific author of some 150 books and counted Arthur Conan Doyle, Mark Twain, and Graham Greene among her many admirers. Her most enduring work is her tales of the ghostly and supernatural, her favorites of which she collected in 1949 under the title The Bishop of Hell and Other Stories. This collection of twelve stories, newly reissued as part of Valancourt’s Monster, She Wrote series, ranks among the finest volumes of British ghost stories of all time.
  • Burning Girls and Other Stories, Veronica Schanoes (Mar 2): Veronica Schanoes crosses borders and genres with stories of fierce women at the margins of society burning their way toward the center. This debut collection introduces readers to a dark fantasist in the vein of Karen Russell and Kelly Link, with a voice all her own.
  • Dead Space, Kali Wallace (Mar 2): An investigator must solve a brutal murder on a claustrophobic space station in this tense science fiction thriller from the author of Salvation Day.
  • Down Comes The Night, Allison Saft (Mar 2): A snow-drenched romantic gothic fantasy full of magic and disease in a crumbling mansion that’ll keep you racing through the pages long into the night.
  • Later, Stephen King (Mar 2): The son of a struggling single mother, Jamie Conklin just wants an ordinary childhood. But Jamie is no ordinary child. Born with an unnatural ability his mom urges him to keep secret, Jamie can see what no one else can see and learn what no one else can learn. But the cost of using this ability is higher than Jamie can imagine—as he discovers when an NYPD detective draws him into the pursuit of a killer who has threatened to strike from beyond the grave.
  • Machinehood, S.B. Divya (Mar 2): From the Hugo Award nominee S.B. Divya, Zero Dark Thirty meets The Social Network in this science fiction thriller about artificial intelligence, sentience, and labor rights in a near future dominated by the gig economy.
  • All the Murmuring Bones, A.G. Slatter (Mar 9): A harrowing and spellbinding tale of dark family secrets, grim magic, witches, and creatures of myth and the sea; of strong women and the men who seek to control them.
  • The Ghost Variations, Kevin Brockmeier (Mar 9): From the author of The Brief History of the Dead comes a collection of one hundred (!) short ghost stories, some funny, some poignant, and some terrifying.
  • The Girls Are All So Nice Here, Laurie Elizabeth Flynn (Mar 9): Two former best friends return to their college reunion to find that they’re being circled by someone who wants revenge for what they did ten years before—and will stop at nothing to get it—in this shocking psychological thriller about ambition, toxic friendship, and deadly desire.
  • Reality and Other Stories, John Lanchester (Mar 9): Ghost stories for the digital age by the Booker Prize–longlisted author of The WallReality and Other Stories takes readers to a disquieting, uncanny world familiar to fans of The Twilight Zone or Black Mirror. Household gizmos with a mind of their own. Mysterious cell-phone calls from unknown numbers. Reality TV shows and the creeping suspicion that none of this is real…
  • The Second Bell, Gabriela Houston (Mar 9): In this Slavic-inspired dark fantasy, a young striga ostracized as a monster by her community fights to harness the power of her second heart, while her mother sacrifices everything to stop her…
  • Our Last Echoes, Kate Alice Marshall (Mar 16): Kara Thomas meets Twin Peaks in this supernatural thriller about one girl’s hunt for the truth about her mother’s disappearance. People have been vanishing from Bitter Rock for decades, leaving only their ghostly echoes behind. Sophia is the only one who can break the cycle–or risk becoming nothing more than another echo haunting the island.
  • The Whispering House, Elizabeth Brooks (Mar 16): The Whispering House trades in secrets: of a son haunted by his family’s unsettling past, and a young woman uncovering the startling truth about her sister’s last days.
  • I Would Haunt You If I Could, Sean Padraic Birnie (Mar 23): The debut short story collection from Sean Padraic Birnie is sown with seeds of sorrow and grief, and imbued with disquieting bodily horrors. These tales are the product of an uncanny and febrile imagination. Birnie’s writing balances on the knife’s edge of the horror and literary divide. Stories that cut and bleed. Stories that linger and haunt.
  • The Lost Village, Camilla Sten (Mar 23): The Blair Witch Project meets Midsommar in this brilliantly disturbing thriller from Camilla Sten, an electrifying new voice in suspense.
  • Your Turn to Suffer, Tim Waggoner (Mar 23): Lorelei Palumbo is harassed by a sinister group calling themselves The Cabal. They accuse her of having committed unspeakable crimes in the past, and now she must pay. The Cabal begins taking her life apart one piece at a time – her job, her health, the people she loves – and she must try to figure out what The Cabal thinks she’s done if she’s to have any hope of answering their charges and salvaging her life.
  • A Broken Darkness, Premee Mohamed (Mar 30): The highly anticipated sequel to Beneath the Rising. It’s been a year and a half since the Anomaly, when They tried to force their way into the world from the shapeless void. Nick and Johnny are piecing their lives back together, but when more portals open to Them, they must risk everything to fight the darkness once more.
  • Goddess of Filth, V. Castro (Mar 30): One hot summer night, five best friends hold a séance. It’s all fun and games at first, but their tipsy laughter turns to terror when the flames burn straight through their prayer candles and Fernanda starts crawling toward her friends and chanting in Nahuatl, the language of their Aztec ancestors. Over the next few weeks, shy, modest Fernanda starts acting strangely. The local priest is convinced it’s a demon, but Lourdes begins to suspect it’s something else—something far more ancient and powerful.

As always, if we missed anything, let us know in the comments!

View our 2021 new horror release masterlist here, and view previous monthly new releases posts here.



Join Us by the Fire...


7 thoughts on “This Month in New Horror Books: March 2021

  1. Dear Nightfire, I do greatly appreciate your listing my book here with these other fine books, but the truth is my collection will not be out until July. This was just recently announced, so not your fault. Just trying to set the record straight.

      1. Margaret Brown is actually MARJORIE BOWEN.Quite important to get author’s names right ,I would think.

        Can only be pedantic ,Emily,because I’m interested in Victorian/Edwardian women writers of the supernatural.Didn’t mean to be snarky.

  2. Thanks so much for the list! It’s really nice to see things all in one place like this. A great resource. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *