This Month in New Horror Books: November 2021

Halloween is behind us, yes, but real horrorheads know that fear is year-round. Publishing does tend to slow down a bit in November and December, but there are still some gems to be found. This month, look for new titles from authors like Kim Newman, Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman, Steve Rasnic Tem, Ellen Datlow, Louise Erdrich, and many more.

Also, a note: we’re continuously updating release dates and newly announced books both here and on our 2021 horror releases master post.


November’s new horror titles:

  • Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the Most (Fictional) Haunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World, ed. Charlatan Bardot and Eric J. Guignard (Nov 2): For nearly forty years, renowned paranormal investigator Professor Charlatan Bardot has examined, documented, and acquired stories of haunted buildings around the world. Partnered with leading anthologist Eric J. Guignard, and gifted artists Steve Lines and James Gabb, the greatest of Charlatan’s discoveries are made available now in this comprehensive travel anthology of 27 feature stories and 36 tiny tales! From the Philippines’ tragic Ame-Soeur Clothing Factory, to Sweden’s reverent Fish Church; from Tanzania’s vengeful Unguja Restaurant, to Canada’s cursed Crow Island Lighthouse, Charlatan Bardot presents a lifetime of experience and insight into paranormal architecture.
  • Something More Than Night, Kim Newman (Nov 2): With his signature wit, the award-winning author of Anno Dracula, Kim Newman, reimagines the lives of Raymond Chandler and Boris Karloff in this daring and horrifying tale.
  • Welcome to Redgunk, William R. Eakin (Nov 5): For over twenty years, author William Eakin has been spinning tales of Redgunk, Mississippi, a backwater place, where strange encounters are more than local gossip and the kudzu hides all manner of creatures and adventures.
  • The Accursed, Warhammer Horror (Nov 9): This collection features tales of terror and woe by Peter Fehervari, David Annandale, Ray Cluley, Richard Strachan and many more.
  • All of Us Villains, Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman (Nov 9): The Blood Moon rises. The Blood Veil falls. The Tournament begins. Every generation, at the coming of the Blood Moon, seven families in the remote city of Ilvernath each name a champion to compete in a tournament to the death. The prize? Exclusive control over a secret wellspring of high magick. This year, thanks to a salacious tell-all book, the seven champions have a choice: accept their fate or rewrite their story. But this is a story that must be penned in blood.
  • The Art of Goosebumps, Sarah Rodriguez (Nov 9): Featuring tons of fun facts about the series alongside a walkthrough of all books and covers in the Goosebumps collections, this art book is a must-have for old and new fans alike.
  • The Hidden, Melanie Golding (Nov 9): Following her acclaimed debut Little Darlings, Melanie Golding’s newest folkloric suspense is a spine-tingling twist on Celtic mythology.
  • The Sentence, Louise Erdrich (Nov 9): In this stunning and timely novel, Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award–winning author Louise Erdrich creates a wickedly funny ghost story, a tale of passion, of a complex marriage, and of a woman’s relentless errors.
  • Thanatrauma, Steve Rasnic Tem (Nov 9): Thanatrauma: the dread of it erodes you, the shadows waiting at the end, the impending conclusion, the troubling dream from which you will not wake. These 21 stories – four published here for the first time – explore some of our fundamental fears: death, loss, grief, and aging. Steve Rasnic Tem has won the Bram Stoker, World Fantasy, and British Fantasy Awards and has established himself as one of today’s finest writers of horror and weird fiction. In this new collection, by turns chilling and thought-provoking, Tem is at his very best.
  • Future Bright, Future Grimm: Transhumanist Tales for Mother Nature’s Offspring, D.J. MacLennan (Nov 15): Future Bright, Future Grimm draws upon the odd, abrupt, often violent tales of the Brothers Grimm to summon transhumanist tomorrows of astounding grace and danger. The adventurers, magicians and monsters who lurk here are we and our mind-children – amplified, augmented, immortalised in rebooted fables with the edgiest of twists.
  • The Sleep Room, F.R. Tallis (Nov 15): When promising young psychiatrist James Richards is offered the job opportunity of a lifetime by the charismatic Dr. Hugh Maitland, he is thrilled. One of his tasks is to manage Maitland’s most controversial projects—a pioneering therapy in which extremely disturbed patients are kept asleep for months. If this radically and potentially dangerous procedure is successful, it could mean professional glory for both doctors. As Richardson settles into his new life, he begins to sense something uncanny about the sleeping patients—six women, forsaken by society. Why is Maitland unwilling to discuss their past lives? Why is the trainee nurse so on edge when she spends nights alone with them? And what can it mean when all the sleepers start dreaming at the same time?
  • The Werewolf of Paris, Guy Endore (Nov 15): The classic werewolf novel – now back in print for the first time in over forty years – helped define a genre and set a new standard in horror fiction. Endore’s novel has withstood the test of time since it was first published in 1933. In this gripping work of historical fiction, Endore’s werewolf, an outcast named Bertrand Caillet, travels across pre-Revolutionary France seeking to calm the beast within. Stunning in its sexual frankness and eerie, fog-enshrouded visions, this novel was decidedly influential for the generations of horror and science fiction authors who came afterward.
  • The Best Horror of the Year Volume Thirteen, ed. Ellen Datlow (Nov 16): From Ellen Datlow comes a new entry in the series that has brought you stories from Stephen King and Neil Gaiman comes thrilling stories, the best horror stories available.
  • The Puller, Michael Hodges (Nov 16): Matt Kearns just needed to get away from it all—to grieve for his father and let the rugged wilderness of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula renew him. But from the moment he arrives, nothing feels right. Strange happenings shake his confidence and have him questioning his sanity. Even the animals seem to know something is amiss. But each time he tries to leave, something—something truly malicious—violently pulls him back. What could it be? Why him? And what will he have to do to escape with his life? Michael Hodge’s debut supernatural thriller delivers visceral, edge-of-your-seat suspense as one resourceful man desperately fights for his life against a force more savage and relentless than anything the locals here have ever seen.
  • The Valancourt Book of ​Victorian Christmas Ghost Stories Vol. Five, ed. Christopher Philippo (Nov 16): For this fifth Valancourt volume of Christmas ghost stories, editor Christopher Philippo has dug deeper than ever before, delving into the archives of Victorian-era newspapers and magazines from throughout the British Isles to find twenty-one rare texts for the Christmas season – seventeen stories and four poems – most of them never before reprinted.
  • Exposure, Louis Greenberg (Nov 23): In an alternate Britain, an immersive theatre like no other unravels a mystery from beyond the grave. Perfect for fans of Black Mirror.
  • Chlorophobia: An Eco-Horror Anthology, ed. A. R. Ward (Nov 24): A group of explorers stumble upon a new species of plant in the depths of the rainforest. A fracking operation unwittingly releases a malevolent force from underground. A tainted water supply leads to bizarre behavior in a small town. Plants, animals, weather phenomena… It’s time for Mother Nature to fight back.
  • Source Material, CM Harris (Nov 25): Stranger Things meets Sharp Objects meets The Haunting of Bly Manor in this showstopping suspense thriller that fuses small-town mystery with cinematic science fiction. Source Material is an enthralling exploration of childhood trauma, found family, the tenuous fibers that bind us, and how they tear us apart.
  • Shadow Atlas: Dark Landscapes of the Americas, ed. Carina Bissett, Hillary Dodge and Joshua Viola (Nov 30): Ancient peoples knew there were lands given over to shadow and spirit. The world is full of haunted places that exact a terrible toll on trespassers. Our forebears paid a heavy price to earn the wisdom and the warning they bequeathed to future generations. Time transformed their precious knowledge into superstition, but there are those whose hearts beat in rhythm with the past and whose vision is not clouded by modernity. Their stories are maps revealing the topography and contours of landscapes unimaginable and dark. The Shadow Atlas collects their adventures.

As always, if we missed anything, let us know in the comments!

View our 2021 new horror release masterlist here, and view previous monthly new releases posts here.



Join Us by the Fire...


3 thoughts on “This Month in New Horror Books: November 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *