The Beauty of the Macabre: Interviewing Crystal Connor, A Trusted Name in Terror

Author Crystal Connor talks about being over zombies, writing horror for both kids and adults, and finding horror in the Bible. […]

Read More…

February 26, 2021 Books

Editor, Producer, and Writer Tonia Ransom Shines a Nightlight on Black Horror

Tonia Ransom talks about the Nightlight podcast, lifting up other Black writers, and her own writing journey. […]

Read More…

February 25, 2021 Books, Miscellaneous

Mariana Enriquez’s Stories Echo with the Shrieks of Women

In her short stories, Mariana Enriquez acts as a doula for the grotesque and ghoulish, ushering into the world visions of horrors enacted upon and by women. […]

Read More…

February 24, 2021 Books

The Science of Women in Horror Brilliantly Dissects Horror Movie Tropes and Traditions

From final girls to femme fatales, The Science of Women in Horror is a great dissection of tropes and traditions in horror movies. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2021 Books, On Screen

The Heartbeat of Horror: Interviewing Cassandra Khaw

Cassandra Khaw, author of Nothing But Blackened Teeth and The All-Consuming World, talks about their horror influences, writing style, and new projects. […]

Read More…

February 22, 2021 Books

Does She Make You Scream? Introducing the Murder Babe, the Final Girl’s Opposite Number

We all know about horror’s Final Girl, but where’s the love for the Murder Babe? From Buffy Summers to Akasha to Ginger Fitzgerald, here are our favorites. […]

Read More…

February 19, 2021 On Screen

Phantom Wavelengths: Three Tales of Invisible Color

Continuing her series on color in horror, Chelsea Davis explores three fictional uses of invisible hues from Bierce, London, and Lovecraft. […]

Read More…

February 17, 2021 Books

Hotel Horror Makes Itself at Home in Kourosh Ahari’s The Night

You can check out any time you like: Kourosh Ahari’s The Night foregrounds personal horror in a deeply creepy hotel. Read our full review. […]

Read More…

February 16, 2021 On Screen

12 Horror Games to Look Forward to in 2021

2021 is shaping up to be a great year in horror gaming: from tense, tightly-paced indie games to massive, sprawling RPGs, there’s something for everyone. […]

Read More…

February 12, 2021 On Screen

The Chiming of the Witching Hour: Dreadful John at Midnight

In his first entry in an ongoing series about the history of horror audio, Shawn M. Garrett uncovers the backstory of Dreadful John at Midnigh […]

Read More…

February 10, 2021 Miscellaneous

In Cynthia Pelayo’s Children of Chicago, A City’s Darkness Shines

In Children of Chicago, Cynthia Pelayo has written a horrifying true crime fairy tale grounded in Chicago’s criminal past. […]

Read More…

February 10, 2021 Books

Interviewing Ellen Datlow, the Doyenne of Short Horror Fiction

We caught up with legendary horror editor Ellen Datlow about her storied career, current trends, and upcoming projects. […]

Read More…

February 9, 2021 Books

On Being the Other in an Outsider Genre: Interviewing Chesya Burke

This Women in Horror Month, we spoke to horror author and academic Chesya Burke talks Black horror, Octavia Butler, and writing rituals. […]

Read More…

February 8, 2021 Books

Fear in a Handful of Syllables: The Magnus Archives

Alasdair Stuart, voice of Peter Lukas, dives deep into how the story structure of beloved horror podcast The Magnus Archives is something akin to a magic trick. […]

Read More…

February 4, 2021 Miscellaneous

Ania Ahlborn Would Like You to Ouija Responsibly

For Women in Horror Month, we talked to Ania Ahlborn, author of If You See Her and more, about teaching, inspiration, typewriters, and Ouija boards. […]

Read More…

February 3, 2021 Books

Becoming the Wolf: Rose Szabo on Monsters, Queerness, and Euphemism

What Big Teeth author Rose Szabo writes about getting comfortable with ambiguity when it comes to horror, and when it comes to queerness. […]

Read More…

February 2, 2021 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: February 2021

Check out the scariest new horror books out in February 2021, featuring new books from Cynthia Pelayo, Isabel Yap, Gemma Files, Ramsey Campbell, and more. […]

Read More…

February 1, 2021 Books

By Ghosts, For Ghosts: Pandemic-Era Virtual Horror Theater

Immersive and interactive horror theater is a form of entertainment uniquely suited to our pandemic existence, and beyond. […]

Read More…

January 27, 2021 Miscellaneous

Color in Horror: The Grim Rainbow of American Gothic Fiction

How does a non-visual form of storytelling make a visual phenomenon both vibrant and disturbing? Chelsea Davis explores the use of color in horror fiction in this essay series. […]

Read More…

January 26, 2021 Books, On Screen

You Might Not Want to Go Home Again: 6 Tales of Homecoming Horror

VIsiting the place you grew up is rich fodder for horror stories – here are six horror books about the oddness of coming home. […]

Read More…

January 20, 2021 Books

The Route of Ice and Salt is a Vampire Classic Back From the Dead

José Luis Zárate’s queer Dracula novella, The Route of Ice and Salt, is available in English for the first time–here’s why you should read it. […]

Read More…

January 20, 2021 Books

On The Road: A Look Back At HBO’s The Hitchhiker

For our Small Screen Horror series, Shawn M. Garrett takes a close look at the first season of HBO’s 1980s horror anthology series The Hitchhiker. […]

Read More…

January 19, 2021 On Screen

The 10 Best Horror Poetry Collections of 2020

2020 was a bad year in many respects, but a great year for horror poetry – here are some of the best collections. […]

Read More…

January 12, 2021 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: January 2021

Check out the scariest new horror books out in January 2021, featuring new books from Josh Malerman, Eden Royce, Camilla Bruce, José Luis Zárate, and more. […]

Read More…

January 5, 2021 Books

O Christmas Scream: 6 Offbeat Christmas Horror Movies to Haunt Your Holidays

These Christmas horror movies (and two bonus TV episodes) are perfect for anyone who likes a little blood in their eggnog. […]

Read More…

December 23, 2020 On Screen

The Blade Between Puts A Human Face on Gods And Monsters

The Blade Between, Sam J. Miller’s relentless new novel, offers a much-needed fresh spin on the gothic, folk horror, and horror-noir genres. […]

Read More…

December 21, 2020 Books

The Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve is a No-Skips Anthology

Ellen Datlow’s Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve continues to deliver, with phenomenal short horror fiction from 22 talented authors. […]

Read More…

December 18, 2020 Books

Secret Santa Gives the Greatest Gifts of All: Christmas Horror and ‘80s Nostalgia

Andrew Shaffer’s Secret Santa is a delightful horror comedy set in the 80s publishing scene. […]

Read More…

December 14, 2020 Books

Blue Light of the Screen Is a Hauntingly Good Horror Memoir

Claire Cronin’s book is a fascinating blend of memoir and horror criticism – a must for any horror fan who likes the why just as much as the what. […]

Read More…

December 10, 2020 Books

We Hear Voices Plots an Eerie Pandemic Mystery

Evie Green’s debut novel, We Hear Voices, is an unsettling blend of mystery, social drama, creepy kids, and pandemic thriller. […]

Read More…

December 8, 2020 Books

Festive Frights: Five Holiday Horror Novels

These five works of holiday horror are a guaranteed remedy to the cloyingly gingerbread saturated cuteness of classic holiday tales. […]

Read More…

December 7, 2020 Books

Is it Demons or Bad Pipes? Reviewing Evil’s First Season

Evil is a spooky procedural that mixes technology and faith, perfect for fans of The X-Files and Black Mirror – read our full review. […]

Read More…

December 4, 2020 On Screen

Horror for the Holidays: The Best Gifts for Horror Readers

If you need the perfect gift for the horror reader in your life, these 14 2020 horror books will guarantee you champion gift-giver status. […]

Read More…

December 2, 2020 Books, On Screen

This Month in New Horror Books: December 2020

Check out the scariest new horror books out in December 2020, featuring new books from Sam J. Miller, Evie Green, Christopher Golden, and more. […]

Read More…

December 1, 2020 Books

Welcome Back to Skillute, WA: S.P. Miskowski’s The Best of Both Worlds

With The Best of Both Worlds, S.P. Miskowski introduces us to more residents of her fictional Pacific Northwest town, where nothing is what it seems. […]

Read More…

November 24, 2020 Books

7 Family Gathering Horror Movies To Take The Edge Off The Holidays

Things can get tense at family holiday gatherings – here are 7 horror movies that’ll make you thank your lucky stars your family is only a little quirky. […]

Read More…

November 23, 2020 On Screen

This is Not a Ghost Story Delivers Contemporary Chills

Andrea Portes’ YA horror novel is a great entry to the horror genre for new readers. […]

Read More…

November 18, 2020 Books

6 Free Classic Horror Books to Read on Project Gutenberg

Books for the budget-conscious–read these six horror classics for free right now, courtesy of Project Gutenberg. […]

Read More…

November 16, 2020 Books

Humanity, Desire, and Unease in the Work of Junji Ito

Gabino Iglesias delves into the work of master horror illustrator Junji Ito, and what it is about his work that leaves such a lasting impact on readers. […]

Read More…

November 13, 2020 Books

Tales From the Backlist: In The Beast of Vaccarès, the Spirit of a Lonely Place

Jóusè d’Arbaud’s 1926 novella, now translated into English for the first time, is a classic of Provençal literature & a must-read for fans of Arthur Machen. […]

Read More…

November 12, 2020 Books