Reclaiming the “F” Word: Why We Need Fat Positivity in Horror

Nico Bell and Sonora Taylor, editors of Diet Riot: A Fatterpunk Anthology, lay out why we need better fat representation in horror, and how to do it right. […]

Read More…

June 23, 2022 Books, On Screen

How The Phantom of the Opera Still Haunts Italian and Chinese Cinema

Everyone knows the Andrew Lloyd Webber’s stage version, but Gaston Leroux’s 1910 novel held a special fascination for Italian and Chinese filmmakers. […]

Read More…

June 16, 2022 On Screen

5 Perfect Readalikes for Your Favorite Horror Movie Subgenres

Nightmare Fuel author Nina Nesseth suggests five novels to pair perfectly with five subgenres of horror movie, from The Bay to American Psycho. […]

Read More…

June 15, 2022 Books, On Screen

Earthly Terrors: 9 International Novels of Translated Horror

A starter selection of nine amazing horror novels from around the world and recently translated into English to start you off right.  […]

Read More…

June 13, 2022 Books

The U.S. Government, Unidentified Aerial Phenomena, and You: A Truth Seeker’s Guide

The House Intelligence Committee recently held a hearing on Unidentified Aerial Phenomena–but what form will the inevitable alien invasion take? […]

Read More…

June 6, 2022 News, On Screen

Read the Second Chapter of What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher

T. Kingfisher’s Poe-inspired novella What Moves the Dead hits shelves on July 12, 2022, but you can read the first two chapters now! […]

Read More…

June 1, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: June 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in June 2022, featuring new books from Ellen Datlow, Riley Sager, Eric LaRocca, Craig Laurance Gidney, and more! […]

Read More…

June 1, 2022 Books

Bethany C. Morrow’s Thriller Cherish Farrah Gets Behind the Mask of Race and Class

Bethany C. Morrow’s thrilling novel of race and social status is a cerebral, gripping narrative of a very dark friendship. […]

Read More…

May 31, 2022 Books

The HOWL Society and the New Way to Publish an Anthology

The founder of the HOWL Society and editor of Howls From the Dark Ages talks about creating an anthology out of a community of horror enthusiasts. […]

Read More…

May 25, 2022 Books

7 Books Featuring Hauntings That Don’t Require Houses

Haunted houses tend to get all the glory, but any structure (or even object) can hold a spirit. These seven hauntings take us beyond the home. […]

Read More…

May 23, 2022 Books

Yaya Betancourt Dreams of Teeth (or, How to Kill a Toothy Darling)

Fresh off her Stoker Award win for Best First Novel, Hailey Piper shares an exclusive scene that was cut from Queen of Teeth. […]

Read More…

May 18, 2022 Books

Horror Punk’s Not Dead: The Adams Family Reinvents Horror Cinema on Their Own Terms

An ode to the punk genius of the Adams, the indie family filmmaking team behind Hellbender and The Deeper You Dig. […]

Read More…

May 17, 2022 On Screen

Dracula Daily is the Internet’s Biggest Book Club

How a newsletter about a 125 year-old novel about one British idiot’s travels to meet the most famous vampire in history took the internet by storm. […]

Read More…

May 10, 2022 Books, News

The Cultural (and Horror) Significance of Roger Corman

The prolific cult filmmaker Roger Corman has had an outsized impact on American film history–and especially horror. So why does he only have one film on the National Film Registry? […]

Read More…

May 5, 2022 On Screen

Download a Free Digital Preview of T. Kingfisher’s What Moves the Dead

Download a free sneak peek of The Twisted Ones author T. Kingfisher’s new Poe-inspired novella What Moves the Dead from your favorite retailer. […]

Read More…

May 3, 2022 Books, News

This Month in New Horror Books: May 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in May 2022, featuring new books from Tade Thompson, Hailey Piper, John Langan, KC Jones, Anne Heltzel, and more! […]

Read More…

May 2, 2022 Books

With Special Guest Star Vincent Price: The Horror Icon on TV

Vincent Price will always be a favorite of horror fans for his iconic star-turns in classic horror movies, like the Roger Corman Edgar Allan Poe films, The Abominable Dr. Phibes, […]

Read More…

April 21, 2022 On Screen

Into the Night: March 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

April 19, 2022 Books

Horror Is Metal: The Bloody Neon Shimmer of Synthwave

In this edition of her column on music and horror, Meghan Ball looks at synthwave’s nostalgic horror DNA, from John Carpenter to Carpenter Brut. […]

Read More…

April 7, 2022 Miscellaneous

This Month in New Horror Books: April 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in April 2022, featuring new books from Alma Katsu, Jennifer McMahon, Premee Mohamed, and more! […]

Read More…

April 1, 2022 Books

Announcing The Spite House, A New Novel from Johnny Compton

Johnny Compton’s The Spite House – a Black Southern Gothic in the vein of The Others meets A Headful of Ghosts – will be published by Nightfire in February 2023! […]

Read More…

March 28, 2022 Books, News

The Ghosts of Segregation: Interviewing India Hill Brown

India Hill Brown talks The Girl in the Lake, writing historical horror for middle grade and young adult audiences, and more! […]

Read More…

March 22, 2022 Books

Download a Free Digital Preview of Anne Heltzel’s Just Like Mother

Download a free sneak peek of HEX author Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s highly anticipated novel Echo from your favorite retailer. […]

Read More…

March 21, 2022 Books, News

Into the Night: February 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

March 21, 2022 Books

7 Medieval Horror Books For When You Need A Break From Elden Ring

From the Plague to the Crusades, here are seven tales of medieval horror and dark fantasy for when you need a break after that thirtieth loss to the Serpent King. […]

Read More…

March 17, 2022 Books

Polychromatic Perversity: Hypercolor, Vice, and Violence in Horror

Continuing her series on color in horror, Chelsea Davis looks at the otherworldly uses of hypersaturation in Heavenly Creatures, Dorian Gray, and more. […]

Read More…

March 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

Announcing Boys in the Valley, A New Novel from Philip Fracassi

Philip Fracassi’s Boys in the Valley – a chilling blend of The Exorcist, Lord of the Flies, and Midnight Mass – will be published by Nightfire in Summer 2023! […]

Read More…

March 8, 2022 Books, News

Tales From the Backlist: Anno Dracula is a Whole Introductory Course on Gothic Horror

Kim Newman’s vampire supergroup of a novel is still wildly influential thirty years later–and makes a perfect gateway into the gothic. […]

Read More…

March 7, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: March 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in March 2022, featuring new books from Catriona Ward, Matthew Lyons, Ally Wilkes, Ramsey Campbell, and more! […]

Read More…

March 1, 2022 Books

Seven Filmed Stories About Freaky Films

These movies and TV shows about dangerous fictional films need more than an MPAA rating–try a priest or a circle of salt instead. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2022 On Screen

Horror Is Metal: The Haunting of My Chemical Romance

In this edition of her column on music and horror, Meghan Ball examines how My Chemical Romance’s most iconic album came from a stay at a very haunted house. […]

Read More…

February 21, 2022 Miscellaneous

Summer Scares 2022, Coming Soon to a Haunted Library Near You

Konrad Stump, co-chair of the Horror Writers Association’s Library Committee, introduces the 2022 edition of the Summer Scares program! […]

Read More…

February 16, 2022 News

Reader Beware: The Art of Goosebumps is a Nostalgic Retrospective for Former Young Ghouls

Tim Jacobus’s iconic cover art shines in this comprehensive history of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series–it’s more fun than a day trip to Horrorland! […]

Read More…

February 10, 2022 Books

Adrift & Alone: The Five Ghost Ships That Haunt Me

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes on the ghost ships (both fictional and all-too-real) that haunt her nightmares, from the Event Horizon to the Lyubov Orlova. […]

Read More…

February 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

The Best Horror Short Story Collections and Anthologies of 2021

These eleven dark volumes of short fiction, some of 2021’s best, will give you a good push out from shore into the deeper, darker, and stranger waters. […]

Read More…

February 8, 2022 Books

Into the Night: January 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

February 3, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: February 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in February 2022, featuring new books from Sara Gran, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Gretchen Felker-Martin, and more! […]

Read More…

February 1, 2022 Books

7 Killer Horror Books About Murderous Animals

Seven terrifying horror books about animals that want you dead, giving “nature red in tooth and claw” an all-too-fresh meaning. […]

Read More…

January 31, 2022 General

Come Celebrate Middle Grade Horror Alongside the Horror Writers Association

Kids are braver and tougher than we think, and the Horror Writers Association’s new Stoker Award category for middle grade novels is a great reflection of that. […]

Read More…

January 28, 2022 Books

Tales From the Backlist: Sara Gran’s Come Closer is Waiting For You

Sara Gran’s 2003 novel Come Closer is still luring readers in nearly two decades later–Drew Broussard examines how the book weaves its propulsive spell. […]

Read More…

January 25, 2022 Books