Yaya Betancourt Dreams of Teeth (or, How to Kill a Toothy Darling)

Fresh off her Stoker Award win for Best First Novel, Hailey Piper shares an exclusive scene that was cut from Queen of Teeth. […]

Read More…

May 18, 2022 Books

Dracula Daily is the Internet’s Biggest Book Club

How a newsletter about a 125 year-old novel about one British idiot’s travels to meet the most famous vampire in history took the internet by storm. […]

Read More…

May 10, 2022 Books, News

Download a Free Digital Preview of T. Kingfisher’s What Moves the Dead

Download a free sneak peek of The Twisted Ones author T. Kingfisher’s new Poe-inspired novella What Moves the Dead from your favorite retailer. […]

Read More…

May 3, 2022 Books, News

This Month in New Horror Books: May 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in May 2022, featuring new books from Tade Thompson, Hailey Piper, John Langan, KC Jones, Anne Heltzel, and more! […]

Read More…

May 2, 2022 Books

A Practitioner’s Guide to Writing Historical Horror 

The Fervor author Alma Katsu on what writers need to consider when writing historical horror, from alternate outcomes to audience expectations. […]

Read More…

April 25, 2022 Books

Into the Night: March 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

April 19, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: April 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in April 2022, featuring new books from Alma Katsu, Jennifer McMahon, Premee Mohamed, and more! […]

Read More…

April 1, 2022 Books

Silver and Steel: Six Horror Books Featuring Elderly Protagonists

Horror loves to focus on younger characters, but don’t discount the elderly–here are six books featuring older protagonists who’re more than capable of holding their own. […]

Read More…

March 29, 2022 Books

Announcing The Spite House, A New Novel from Johnny Compton

Johnny Compton’s The Spite House – a Black Southern Gothic in the vein of The Others meets A Headful of Ghosts – will be published by Nightfire in February 2023! […]

Read More…

March 28, 2022 Books, News

The Ghosts of Segregation: Interviewing India Hill Brown

India Hill Brown talks The Girl in the Lake, writing historical horror for middle grade and young adult audiences, and more! […]

Read More…

March 22, 2022 Books

Download a Free Digital Preview of Anne Heltzel’s Just Like Mother

Download a free sneak peek of HEX author Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s highly anticipated novel Echo from your favorite retailer. […]

Read More…

March 21, 2022 Books, News

Into the Night: February 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

March 21, 2022 Books

7 Medieval Horror Books For When You Need A Break From Elden Ring

From the Plague to the Crusades, here are seven tales of medieval horror and dark fantasy for when you need a break after that thirtieth loss to the Serpent King. […]

Read More…

March 17, 2022 Books

Polychromatic Perversity: Hypercolor, Vice, and Violence in Horror

Continuing her series on color in horror, Chelsea Davis looks at the otherworldly uses of hypersaturation in Heavenly Creatures, Dorian Gray, and more. […]

Read More…

March 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

Announcing Boys in the Valley, A New Novel from Philip Fracassi

Philip Fracassi’s Boys in the Valley – a chilling blend of The Exorcist, Lord of the Flies, and Midnight Mass – will be published by Nightfire in Summer 2023! […]

Read More…

March 8, 2022 Books, News

Tales From the Backlist: Anno Dracula is a Whole Introductory Course on Gothic Horror

Kim Newman’s vampire supergroup of a novel is still wildly influential thirty years later–and makes a perfect gateway into the gothic. […]

Read More…

March 7, 2022 Books

Only the Lonely: 13 Classic Works of Isolation Horror

Road of Bones author Christopher Golden picks 13 essential works of isolation horror, from foundational frights to modern terrors. […]

Read More…

March 3, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: March 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in March 2022, featuring new books from Catriona Ward, Matthew Lyons, Ally Wilkes, Ramsey Campbell, and more! […]

Read More…

March 1, 2022 Books

Reader Beware: The Art of Goosebumps is a Nostalgic Retrospective for Former Young Ghouls

Tim Jacobus’s iconic cover art shines in this comprehensive history of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series–it’s more fun than a day trip to Horrorland! […]

Read More…

February 10, 2022 Books

Adrift & Alone: The Five Ghost Ships That Haunt Me

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes on the ghost ships (both fictional and all-too-real) that haunt her nightmares, from the Event Horizon to the Lyubov Orlova. […]

Read More…

February 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

The Best Horror Short Story Collections and Anthologies of 2021

These eleven dark volumes of short fiction, some of 2021’s best, will give you a good push out from shore into the deeper, darker, and stranger waters. […]

Read More…

February 8, 2022 Books

Into the Night: January 2022’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

February 3, 2022 Books

This Month in New Horror Books: February 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in February 2022, featuring new books from Sara Gran, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Gretchen Felker-Martin, and more! […]

Read More…

February 1, 2022 Books

Come Celebrate Middle Grade Horror Alongside the Horror Writers Association

Kids are braver and tougher than we think, and the Horror Writers Association’s new Stoker Award category for middle grade novels is a great reflection of that. […]

Read More…

January 28, 2022 Books

Tales From the Backlist: Sara Gran’s Come Closer is Waiting For You

Sara Gran’s 2003 novel Come Closer is still luring readers in nearly two decades later–Drew Broussard examines how the book weaves its propulsive spell. […]

Read More…

January 25, 2022 Books

Announcing The Scourge Between Stars, A New Novella from Ness Brown

Ness Brown’s The Scourge Between Stars, a tense, claustrophobic sci-fi/horror blend in the vein of Alien and Event Horizon, will be published by Nightfire in April 2023! […]

Read More…

January 19, 2022 Books, News

Scares Across America Part V: South Dakota to Washington D.C.

Travel across America with the fifth and final installation of our compendium of horror books set in every state of the union (plus Puerto Rico & Washington, D.C.). […]

Read More…

January 18, 2022 Books

Into the Night: The Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry of 2021

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet had to offer in 2021, from our monthly series. […]

Read More…

January 14, 2022 Books

In Defense of Space Horror

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes explores how and why horror set in space works, contrary to what you may have heard on Twitter. […]

Read More…

January 12, 2022 Books, On Screen

This Month in New Horror Books: January 2022

Check out the scariest new horror books out in January 2022, featuring new books from V. Castro, Kristi DeMeester, Christopher Golden, and more! […]

Read More…

January 3, 2022 Books

Read the First Two Chapters of Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes

S.A. Barnes’ terrifying space horror novel Dead Silence hits shelves on Feb 8th, 2022, but you can read the first two chapters now! […]

Read More…

December 20, 2021 Books

Into the Night: November 2021’s Best Horror Short Fiction and Poetry

Let us guide you through the dark corridors of the best short horror fiction and poetry the internet has to offer in our monthly series. […]

Read More…

December 16, 2021 Books

Remembering Bill Landis, the Late, Great Scholar of Sleaze

Biographer Preston Fassel reintroduces the man behind the myth, the grandfather of modern genre criticism, Mr. Sleazoid himself: Bill Landis. […]

Read More…

December 14, 2021 Books, On Screen

Zoje Stage’s Escapist Adventure Getaway Thrills in Small Stretches

Zoje Stage’s backpacking thriller Getaway explores the limits of escapism, especially when the need for escape becomes frighteningly literal. […]

Read More…

December 9, 2021 Books

The Gift of Fear: 2021’s Best Gifts for Horror Fans

If you need the perfect gift for the horror reader in your life, these 30+ 2021 horror books will guarantee you champion gift-giver status. […]

Read More…

December 6, 2021 Books, On Screen

This Month in New Horror Books: December 2021

Check out the scariest new horror books out in December 2021, featuring new books from Samantha Kolesnik, Alex White, Victoria Nelson, and more! […]

Read More…

December 1, 2021 Books

Scares Across America Part IV: New Mexico to South Carolina

Travel across America with the fourth installation of our compendium of horror books set in every state of the union (plus Puerto Rico & Washington, D.C.). […]

Read More…

November 22, 2021 Books

Escape Rooms: 6 Intense Closed-Circle Horror Books

Six books that provide a great entry into the subgenre of closed-loop or closed-room horror, where events are confined to a finite space. […]

Read More…

November 18, 2021 Books

Announcing Tell Me I’m Worthless, A New Novel from Alison Rumfitt

Alison Rumfitt’s Tell Me I’m Worthless–an unflinching haunted house novel about fascism and the modern day trans experience–will be published by Nightfire in January 2023! […]

Read More…

November 17, 2021 Books, News

All the Horror Books We’re Excited About in 2022

Get your TBR list ready: we’ve rounded up all of 2022’s new horror books from Paul Tremblay, Alma Katsu, Gabino Iglesias, Sara Gran, Cassandra Khaw, and many more! […]

Read More…

November 15, 2021 Books