Introducing The Shoemaker’s Magician, Cynthia Pelayo’s Follow-Up to Children of Chicago

Cynthia Pelayo introduces the cover of The Shoemaker’s Magician, the second book in her Chicago Saga that started with Children of Chicago. […]

Read More…

September 22, 2022 Books, On Screen

The Long History (and Bright Future) of the Found Footage Horror Novel

The “found footage” horror story is a popular genre for filmmakers, but there’s more of it in the literary world than you’d think–Nightmare Fuel author Nina Nesseth explores this slippery subgenre. […]

Read More…

July 28, 2022 Books, On Screen

Reclaiming the “F” Word: Why We Need Fat Positivity in Horror

Nico Bell and Sonora Taylor, editors of Diet Riot: A Fatterpunk Anthology, lay out why we need better fat representation in horror, and how to do it right. […]

Read More…

June 23, 2022 Books, On Screen

How The Phantom of the Opera Still Haunts Italian and Chinese Cinema

Everyone knows Andrew Lloyd Webber’s stage version, but Gaston Leroux’s 1910 novel held a special fascination for Italian and Chinese filmmakers. […]

Read More…

June 16, 2022 On Screen

5 Perfect Readalikes for Your Favorite Horror Movie Subgenres

Nightmare Fuel author Nina Nesseth suggests five novels to pair perfectly with five subgenres of horror movie, from The Bay to American Psycho. […]

Read More…

June 15, 2022 Books, On Screen

The U.S. Government, Unidentified Aerial Phenomena, and You: A Truth Seeker’s Guide

The House Intelligence Committee recently held a hearing on Unidentified Aerial Phenomena–but what form will the inevitable alien invasion take? […]

Read More…

June 6, 2022 News, On Screen

Horror Punk’s Not Dead: The Adams Family Reinvents Horror Cinema on Their Own Terms

An ode to the punk genius of the Adams, the indie family filmmaking team behind Hellbender and The Deeper You Dig. […]

Read More…

May 17, 2022 On Screen

The Cultural (and Horror) Significance of Roger Corman

The prolific cult filmmaker Roger Corman has had an outsized impact on American film history–and especially horror. So why does he only have one film on the National Film Registry? […]

Read More…

May 5, 2022 On Screen

With Special Guest Star Vincent Price: The Horror Icon on TV

Vincent Price will always be a favorite of horror fans for his iconic star-turns in classic horror movies, like the Roger Corman Edgar Allan Poe films, The Abominable Dr. Phibes, […]

Read More…

April 21, 2022 On Screen

Polychromatic Perversity: Hypercolor, Vice, and Violence in Horror

Continuing her series on color in horror, Chelsea Davis looks at the otherworldly uses of hypersaturation in Heavenly Creatures, Dorian Gray, and more. […]

Read More…

March 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

Seven Filmed Stories About Freaky Films

These movies and TV shows about dangerous fictional films need more than an MPAA rating–try a priest or a circle of salt instead. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2022 On Screen

Adrift & Alone: The Five Ghost Ships That Haunt Me

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes on the ghost ships (both fictional and all-too-real) that haunt her nightmares, from the Event Horizon to the Lyubov Orlova. […]

Read More…

February 9, 2022 Books, On Screen

In Defense of Space Horror

Dead Silence author S.A. Barnes explores how and why horror set in space works, contrary to what you may have heard on Twitter. […]

Read More…

January 12, 2022 Books, On Screen

Keep Watching The Skies: 7 Strange Movies About Alien Abduction

Seven standout movies from the alien abduction genre, featuring everything from gonzo body horror to contemplative takes on humanity’s flaws and foibles. […]

Read More…

January 10, 2022 On Screen

In Defense of Wendy, Barbra, and the Traumatized Women of Horror Cinema

Why do we regard certain female characters in horror as weak just because they visibly suffer and grieve? Gwendolyn Kiste reexamines Wendy, Barbra, and representations of trauma. […]

Read More…

January 6, 2022 On Screen

Remembering Bill Landis, the Late, Great Scholar of Sleaze

Biographer Preston Fassel reintroduces the man behind the myth, the grandfather of modern genre criticism, Mr. Sleazoid himself: Bill Landis. […]

Read More…

December 14, 2021 Books, On Screen

The Gift of Fear: 2021’s Best Gifts for Horror Fans

If you need the perfect gift for the horror reader in your life, these 30+ 2021 horror books will guarantee you champion gift-giver status. […]

Read More…

December 6, 2021 Books, On Screen

Fearful Felines: The Ten Spookiest Cats of Horror Fiction and Film

The horror genre has more than its fair share of spooky felines. In honor of Samhain, here are ten horror cats of film and page who deserve their eerie due.   […]

Read More…

October 28, 2021 Books, On Screen

Horror Is Metal: Backstreet’s Pop-Gothic Detour

In a very special pop edition of her column on music and horror, Meghan Ball muses on an unconventional Halloween classic: the Backstreet Boys video for Everybody (Backstreet’s Back). […]

Read More…

October 26, 2021 On Screen

No One Here Knows I’m a Vampire: A Spooky Matt Berry Reading List

In honor of the funniest man on television, the list you never knew you needed: what to read next based on your favorite Matt Berry project. […]

Read More…

October 14, 2021 Books, On Screen

8 Standout Horror Game Demos From This Fall’s Steam Next Fest

From pixel art folk horror to backwoods deck-building, here are eight of the most promising horror game demos we played at the October 2021 Steam Next Fest. […]

Read More…

October 7, 2021 On Screen

The Sublime Silliness of Shark Horror Movies

In a post-Jaws world, shark horror movies like 47 Meters Down: Uncaged and The Shallows are often pretty silly. Here’s why that’s great, actually. […]

Read More…

September 2, 2021 On Screen

The Scariest Thing About False Positive is How Wrong It Gets Infertility

False Positive gets the horrors of infertility wrong at every turn and proves to be a disappointing heir to Rosemary’s Baby. […]

Read More…

August 17, 2021 On Screen

Down The Road: A Look Back At The Second Season Of HBO’s The Hitchhiker

For our Small Screen Horror series, Shawn M. Garrett takes a close look at the second season of HBO’s 1980s horror anthology series The Hitchhiker. […]

Read More…

July 28, 2021 On Screen

On The Loneliness of the Young Horror Fan

Growing up as a horror-loving kid isn’t always easy, especially for non-white children. But it’s getting better – Ally Russell on why kids should stay spooky. […]

Read More…

July 26, 2021 Books, On Screen

7 Horror B-Movies For When You Want Something Trashier

Sometimes you just need a schlocky horror B-movie – here are seven movies not afraid to walk on the trashier side of cinema. […]

Read More…

June 28, 2021 On Screen

Fried Barry is a Psychedelic Horror-Comedy Alien Sojourn Through Cape Town

Fried Barry is a bizarre, fun, weirdly optimistic tour of Cape Town’s underworld through the eyes of an interstellar visitor. […]

Read More…

June 16, 2021 On Screen

Get Lost: Fictional and True Stories of Forest Horror

Take a hike into horror with these documentaries, podcasts, movies, and books about getting lost in the woods–forever. […]

Read More…

May 10, 2021 Books, On Screen

RPG Nightmares: 5 Horror Games to Play with Your Friends

These five multiplayer horror RPGs are the perfect way to scare yourself and your friends, all from the comfort of your own homes. […]

Read More…

April 27, 2021 On Screen

Chronic Chills: In Praise of the Stoner Horror Movie

Cannabis and horror go together like slashers and masks – this 4/20, celebrate with these ten classic stoner horror movies. […]

Read More…

April 20, 2021 On Screen

A Single Point of Light: The Lost Mystery of Faces in the Window

Pseudopod editor Shawn M. Garrett continues his ongoing series about the history of horror audio with an investigation into the lost TV show Faces in the Window. […]

Read More…

April 14, 2021 Miscellaneous, On Screen

There’s No I in Succubus: Why Men Fall for Sexy Monsters

From No Escape Room to Dracula to Buffy, men in horror are remarkably vulnerable to death by horniness. We unpack the deadly appeal of the female monster. […]

Read More…

April 12, 2021 On Screen

Small Screen Horror: The Ghoulish Delights of Venturing ‘Way Out

For our Small Screen Horror series, let’s revisit the semi-lost classic horror anthology series ‘Way Out, hosted by Roald Dahl. […]

Read More…

April 1, 2021 On Screen

Midnight Movies: Riding The Midnight Meat Train

This underappreciated 2008 movie adaptation of the Clive Barker short story still exudes a dark and compelling power. […]

Read More…

March 16, 2021 On Screen

No Good Mitzvah Goes Unpunished in The Vigil

The Vigil is a taut, terrifying religious horror movie told from a point of view rarely seen in the genre. […]

Read More…

March 5, 2021 On Screen

Scary Personalities: Why Horror Hosts Will Never Die

From the Cryptkeeper and Vampira to Terry Carnation and Zena Dixon, join us in this celebration of horror hosts past, present, and future. […]

Read More…

March 2, 2021 Miscellaneous, On Screen

The Science of Women in Horror Brilliantly Dissects Horror Movie Tropes and Traditions

From final girls to femme fatales, The Science of Women in Horror is a great dissection of tropes and traditions in horror movies. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2021 Books, On Screen

Does She Make You Scream? Introducing the Murder Babe, the Final Girl’s Opposite Number

We all know about horror’s Final Girl, but where’s the love for the Murder Babe? From Buffy Summers to Akasha to Ginger Fitzgerald, here are our favorites. […]

Read More…

February 19, 2021 On Screen

Hotel Horror Makes Itself at Home in Kourosh Ahari’s The Night

You can check out any time you like: Kourosh Ahari’s The Night foregrounds personal horror in a deeply creepy hotel. Read our full review. […]

Read More…

February 16, 2021 On Screen

12 Horror Games to Look Forward to in 2021

2021 is shaping up to be a great year in horror gaming: from tense, tightly-paced indie games to massive, sprawling RPGs, there’s something for everyone. […]

Read More…

February 12, 2021 On Screen