The Sublime Silliness of Shark Horror Movies

In a post-Jaws world, shark horror movies like 47 Meters Down: Uncaged and The Shallows are often pretty silly. Here’s why that’s great, actually. […]

Read More…

September 2, 2021 On Screen

The Scariest Thing About False Positive is How Wrong It Gets Infertility

False Positive gets the horrors of infertility wrong at every turn and proves to be a disappointing heir to Rosemary’s Baby. […]

Read More…

August 17, 2021 On Screen

Down The Road: A Look Back At The Second Season Of HBO’s The Hitchhiker

For our Small Screen Horror series, Shawn M. Garrett takes a close look at the second season of HBO’s 1980s horror anthology series The Hitchhiker. […]

Read More…

July 28, 2021 On Screen

On The Loneliness of the Young Horror Fan

Growing up as a horror-loving kid isn’t always easy, especially for non-white children. But it’s getting better – Ally Russell on why kids should stay spooky. […]

Read More…

July 26, 2021 Books, On Screen

7 Horror B-Movies For When You Want Something Trashier

Sometimes you just need a schlocky horror B-movie – here are seven movies not afraid to walk on the trashier side of cinema. […]

Read More…

June 28, 2021 On Screen

Fried Barry is a Psychedelic Horror-Comedy Alien Sojourn Through Cape Town

Fried Barry is a bizarre, fun, weirdly optimistic tour of Cape Town’s underworld through the eyes of an interstellar visitor. […]

Read More…

June 16, 2021 On Screen

Get Lost: Fictional and True Stories of Forest Horror

Take a hike into horror with these documentaries, podcasts, movies, and books about getting lost in the woods–forever. […]

Read More…

May 10, 2021 Books, On Screen

RPG Nightmares: 5 Horror Games to Play with Your Friends

These five multiplayer horror RPGs are the perfect way to scare yourself and your friends, all from the comfort of your own homes. […]

Read More…

April 27, 2021 On Screen

Chronic Chills: In Praise of the Stoner Horror Movie

Cannabis and horror go together like slashers and masks – this 4/20, celebrate with these ten classic stoner horror movies. […]

Read More…

April 20, 2021 On Screen

A Single Point of Light: The Lost Mystery of Faces in the Window

Pseudopod editor Shawn M. Garrett continues his ongoing series about the history of horror audio with an investigation into the lost TV show Faces in the Window. […]

Read More…

April 14, 2021 Miscellaneous, On Screen

There’s No I in Succubus: Why Men Fall for Sexy Monsters

From No Escape Room to Dracula to Buffy, men in horror are remarkably vulnerable to death by horniness. We unpack the deadly appeal of the female monster. […]

Read More…

April 12, 2021 On Screen

Small Screen Horror: The Ghoulish Delights of Venturing ‘Way Out

For our Small Screen Horror series, let’s revisit the semi-lost classic horror anthology series ‘Way Out, hosted by Roald Dahl. […]

Read More…

April 1, 2021 On Screen

Midnight Movies: Riding The Midnight Meat Train

This underappreciated 2008 movie adaptation of the Clive Barker short story still exudes a dark and compelling power. […]

Read More…

March 16, 2021 On Screen

No Good Mitzvah Goes Unpunished in The Vigil

The Vigil is a taut, terrifying religious horror movie told from a point of view rarely seen in the genre. […]

Read More…

March 5, 2021 On Screen

Scary Personalities: Why Horror Hosts Will Never Die

From the Cryptkeeper and Vampira to Terry Carnation and Zena Dixon, join us in this celebration of horror hosts past, present, and future. […]

Read More…

March 2, 2021 Miscellaneous, On Screen

The Science of Women in Horror Brilliantly Dissects Horror Movie Tropes and Traditions

From final girls to femme fatales, The Science of Women in Horror is a great dissection of tropes and traditions in horror movies. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2021 Books, On Screen

Does She Make You Scream? Introducing the Murder Babe, the Final Girl’s Opposite Number

We all know about horror’s Final Girl, but where’s the love for the Murder Babe? From Buffy Summers to Akasha to Ginger Fitzgerald, here are our favorites. […]

Read More…

February 19, 2021 On Screen

Hotel Horror Makes Itself at Home in Kourosh Ahari’s The Night

You can check out any time you like: Kourosh Ahari’s The Night foregrounds personal horror in a deeply creepy hotel. Read our full review. […]

Read More…

February 16, 2021 On Screen

12 Horror Games to Look Forward to in 2021

2021 is shaping up to be a great year in horror gaming: from tense, tightly-paced indie games to massive, sprawling RPGs, there’s something for everyone. […]

Read More…

February 12, 2021 On Screen

Color in Horror: The Grim Rainbow of American Gothic Fiction

How does a non-visual form of storytelling make a visual phenomenon both vibrant and disturbing? Chelsea Davis explores the use of color in horror fiction in this essay series. […]

Read More…

January 26, 2021 Books, On Screen

On The Road: A Look Back At HBO’s The Hitchhiker

For our Small Screen Horror series, Shawn M. Garrett takes a close look at the first season of HBO’s 1980s horror anthology series The Hitchhiker. […]

Read More…

January 19, 2021 On Screen

O Christmas Scream: 6 Offbeat Christmas Horror Movies to Haunt Your Holidays

These Christmas horror movies (and two bonus TV episodes) are perfect for anyone who likes a little blood in their eggnog. […]

Read More…

December 23, 2020 On Screen

Is it Demons or Bad Pipes? Reviewing Evil’s First Season

Evil is a spooky procedural that mixes technology and faith, perfect for fans of The X-Files and Black Mirror – read our full review. […]

Read More…

December 4, 2020 On Screen

Horror for the Holidays: The Best Gifts for Horror Readers

If you need the perfect gift for the horror reader in your life, these 14 2020 horror books will guarantee you champion gift-giver status. […]

Read More…

December 2, 2020 Books, On Screen

7 Family Gathering Horror Movies To Take The Edge Off The Holidays

Things can get tense at family holiday gatherings – here are 7 horror movies that’ll make you thank your lucky stars your family is only a little quirky. […]

Read More…

November 23, 2020 On Screen

Lovecraft Country Serves Up a Season of Multifaceted Horror

The first season of Misha Green’s adaptation of Matt Ruff’s novel is a mixed bag, with stunning performances and storytelling stumbles – read our review. […]

Read More…

November 9, 2020 On Screen

Camilla Grudova on the Monstrousness of the Midcentury Woman

As part of our Come Join Us By The Fire author essay series, “Ghost Bread” author Camilla Grudova writes about the tragic fates of women in midcentury horror movies. […]

Read More…

October 30, 2020 Books, On Screen

Salem Prevails: A Remote Halloween Guide to Witch City, USA

Couldn’t make it to Salem this October? Let us guide you through a virtual multimedia Halloween tour of the Witch City! […]

Read More…

October 30, 2020 Books, Miscellaneous, On Screen

Damien Angelica Walters on Growing Up on Horror

As part of our Come Join Us By The Fire author essay series, “Tooth, Tongue, and Claw” author Damien Angelica Walters writes about the horror books and movies of her childhood. […]

Read More…

October 29, 2020 Books, On Screen

Matthew Lyons on How Evil Dead 2 Changed His Life

As part of our Come Join Us By The Fire author essay series, “Blood Daughter” author Matthew Lyons writes about Evil Dead 2 opened his eyes to horror. […]

Read More…

October 28, 2020 Books, On Screen

Nibedita Sen on the Art of Restraint

As part of our Come Join Us By The Fire author essay series, “Pigeons” author Nibedita Sen writes about how horror can hinge on knowing when to hold back. […]

Read More…

October 28, 2020 Books, On Screen

Announcing Trick or Trivia, Our First-Ever Halloween Horror Trivia Night

On October 30th, join Tor Nightfire & Den of Geek for a screamingly good time at our Halloween horror author trivia event, hosted by Richard Kadrey! […]

Read More…

October 21, 2020 News, On Screen

Seanan McGuire on the Unsung Heyday of Horror TV

As part of our Come Join Us By The Fire author essay series, “Emergency Landing” author Seanan McGuire writes about small scares and the heyday of 1980s TV horror. […]

Read More…

October 20, 2020 Books, On Screen

Shaun Hamill’s Introduction to Dark Wonder: A Syllabus

Shaun Hamill’s guiding concept as a writer is “Dark Wonder” – here are five short stories, novellas, and movies to get you started in this niche genre. […]

Read More…

October 8, 2020 Books, On Screen

Home Haunting: Halloween Inspiration for a Socially Distant Year

Get inspired for a socially distant Halloween with these documentaries, movies, and TV shows that’ll get you in the mood for some spooky decorating. […]

Read More…

October 7, 2020 Miscellaneous, On Screen

Vacation Turns Sinister Yet Disappointing in The Rental

The Rental, Dave Franco’s directorial debut, feels a lot like a disappointing Airbnb—pretty but kind of empty, and not really scary once you’re in it. […]

Read More…

September 29, 2020 On Screen

Why Host is the Horror Movie We Need Right Now

Shudder’s innovative video-chat horror movie is precisely what we all need in quarantine. […]

Read More…

September 9, 2020 On Screen

6 Horror Movies That Feel Like Vintage Paperbacks

Enjoy some visual comfort food with these six vintage horror movies that capture the comforting feeling of a well-loved paperback pulp horror novel. […]

Read More…

August 26, 2020 On Screen

Review: Lovecraft Country Creates a Whole New System of Reality in “Sundown”

The much-anticipated premiere of HBO’s Lovecraft Country adaptation offers scares of both the mundane and supernatural varieties. […]

Read More…

August 19, 2020 On Screen

What You Need to Know Going Into HBO’s Lovecraft Country Adaptation

A primer on Matt Ruff’s novel Lovecraft Country & what you’ll need to know going into Sunday’s premiere of the HBO series from Misha Green & Jordan Peele. […]

Read More…

August 14, 2020 Books, On Screen