This Month in New Horror Books: September 2020

Fall is here and we’re officially moving into Spooky Season™! We’ve got a good harvest crop of new horror for you this September, including a new slasher novella from Nightfire fave Stephen Graham Jones, Jeremy Robert Johnson’s viral outbreak novel, a White House ghost story, and more. Read on for all the new horror on sale this month!

Also, a note: we’re continuously updating release dates and newly announced books both here and on our 2020 horror releases master post.


September’s new horror titles:

  • grotesquerie, Richard Gavin (Sept 1): A new collection of short stories both terrifying and luminous from an acclaimed author.
  • Night of the Mannequins, Stephen Graham Jones (Sept 1): Jones’ new novella tells a classic teenagers-in-peril slasher story – with a paranormal twist.
  • The Residence, Andrew Pyper (Sept 1): In 1853, President-elect Franklin Pierce’s beloved son died in a train derailment. Andrew Pyper’s new novel examines the aftermath of that tragedy, once Pierce and his wife Jane take up residence in the White House, where a spirit haunts them.
  • The Ghost Tree, Christina Henry (Sept 8): A new horror novel from the author of Alice, Lost Boy, and the bestselling Black Wings series features a small town with rot at its core and a deadly monster in the woods.
  • The Invention of Sound, Chuck Palahniuk (Sept 8): A father searching for his long-lost daughter finds her at the peak of her success as a Hollywood foley artist with a reputation for being the best when it comes to making horror movies sound convincing.
  • It Will Just Be Us, Jo Kaplan (Sept 8): A gothic tale of two sisters, one of whom is pregnant, trying to survive a dangerous child ghost in a haunted mansion – perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle.
  • Standalone, Paul Michael Anderson (Sept 14): A buzzy sci-fi slasher novella about killers who murder stragglers and explorers in the margins of society – but they do it to protect all life from extinction. But when something starts hunting the hunters, the multiverse is in dire peril.
  • The Loop, Jeremy Robert Johnson (Sept 29): Billed as Stranger Things meets World War Z, The Loop takes place in a small town in Oregon which experiences a tidal wave of violence after an outbreak at the local biotech research center spills over into the town’s population. (Plus, read our interview with Johnson here!)
  • The Nesting, C.J. Cooke (Sept 29): When Lexi is hired as a nanny for two young girls after the death of their mother, she isn’t quite sure what to expect. But in their home in remote Norway, Lexi’s discovery of a diary, coupled with footprints from nowhere and a ghostly presence, suggests that she and the girls may be in grave danger.
  • Sleep Donation, Karen Russell (Sept 29): This novella, a chilling tale of a fatal insomnia epidemic, was originally published available only in digital form, but this September, it’ll be published as a paperback for the first time – don’t miss it.

As always, if we missed anything, let us know in the comments!

View our 2020 new horror release masterlist here, and view previous monthly new releases posts here.



Join Us by the Fire...


9 thoughts on “This Month in New Horror Books: September 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *