White Picket Fences Make for Bad Neighbors in Whisper Down the Lane

Clay McLeod Chapman’s Whisper Down the Lane is a chilling tale of hysteria, groupthink, and the cycles of behavior we can never quite escape. […]

Read More…

May 5, 2021 Books

V. Castro’s Goddess of Filth is a Tale of Possession Gone Right

Colonialism, faith, heritage, sexuality, and agency intersect (often brutally) in V. Castro’s new short novel, Goddess of Filth. […]

Read More…

May 4, 2021 Books

Isabel Yap’s Never Have I Ever Strikes at the Heart of Folkloric Horror

Isabel Yap’s Never Have I Ever is an outstanding short fiction collection that occupies the space where horror, surrealism, and folklore overlap. […]

Read More…

April 5, 2021 Books

Eden Royce’s Root Magic is the Book I Needed Growing Up

Eden Royce’s middle grade novel is a triumph of storytelling, representation, and Black childhood – read our full review. […]

Read More…

March 22, 2021 Books

No Good Mitzvah Goes Unpunished in The Vigil

The Vigil is a taut, terrifying religious horror movie told from a point of view rarely seen in the genre. […]

Read More…

March 5, 2021 On Screen

Faith, Trauma, and Memory in The Children of Red Peak

Craig DiLouie’s newest novel, The Children of Red Peak, is a cult horror story that digs deep into grief, survivor’s guilt, and the need for answers. […]

Read More…

March 3, 2021 Books

The Science of Women in Horror Brilliantly Dissects Horror Movie Tropes and Traditions

From final girls to femme fatales, The Science of Women in Horror is a great dissection of tropes and traditions in horror movies. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2021 Books, On Screen

Hotel Horror Makes Itself at Home in Kourosh Ahari’s The Night

You can check out any time you like: Kourosh Ahari’s The Night foregrounds personal horror in a deeply creepy hotel. Read our full review. […]

Read More…

February 16, 2021 On Screen

In Cynthia Pelayo’s Children of Chicago, A City’s Darkness Shines

In Children of Chicago, Cynthia Pelayo has written a horrifying true crime fairy tale grounded in Chicago’s criminal past. […]

Read More…

February 10, 2021 Books

The Route of Ice and Salt is a Vampire Classic Back From the Dead

José Luis Zárate’s queer Dracula novella, The Route of Ice and Salt, is available in English for the first time–here’s why you should read it. […]

Read More…

January 20, 2021 Books

The Blade Between Puts A Human Face on Gods And Monsters

The Blade Between, Sam J. Miller’s relentless new novel, offers a much-needed fresh spin on the gothic, folk horror, and horror-noir genres. […]

Read More…

December 21, 2020 Books

The Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve is a No-Skips Anthology

Ellen Datlow’s Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve continues to deliver, with phenomenal short horror fiction from 22 talented authors. […]

Read More…

December 18, 2020 Books

Secret Santa Gives the Greatest Gifts of All: Christmas Horror and ‘80s Nostalgia

Andrew Shaffer’s Secret Santa is a delightful horror comedy set in the 80s publishing scene. […]

Read More…

December 14, 2020 Books

Blue Light of the Screen Is a Hauntingly Good Horror Memoir

Claire Cronin’s book is a fascinating blend of memoir and horror criticism – a must for any horror fan who likes the why just as much as the what. […]

Read More…

December 10, 2020 Books

We Hear Voices Plots an Eerie Pandemic Mystery

Evie Green’s debut novel, We Hear Voices, is an unsettling blend of mystery, social drama, creepy kids, and pandemic thriller. […]

Read More…

December 8, 2020 Books

Is it Demons or Bad Pipes? Reviewing Evil’s First Season

Evil is a spooky procedural that mixes technology and faith, perfect for fans of The X-Files and Black Mirror – read our full review. […]

Read More…

December 4, 2020 On Screen

Welcome Back to Skillute, WA: S.P. Miskowski’s The Best of Both Worlds

With The Best of Both Worlds, S.P. Miskowski introduces us to more residents of her fictional Pacific Northwest town, where nothing is what it seems. […]

Read More…

November 24, 2020 Books

This is Not a Ghost Story Delivers Contemporary Chills

Andrea Portes’ YA horror novel is a great entry to the horror genre for new readers. […]

Read More…

November 18, 2020 Books

Tales From the Backlist: In The Beast of Vaccarès, the Spirit of a Lonely Place

Jóusè d’Arbaud’s 1926 novella, now translated into English for the first time, is a classic of Provençal literature & a must-read for fans of Arthur Machen. […]

Read More…

November 12, 2020 Books

Lovecraft Country Serves Up a Season of Multifaceted Horror

The first season of Misha Green’s adaptation of Matt Ruff’s novel is a mixed bag, with stunning performances and storytelling stumbles – read our review. […]

Read More…

November 9, 2020 On Screen

The Nesting Is a Gothic Thriller with a Memorable, Modern Voice

C.J. Cooke’s Norwegian gothic novel is an entertaining read and a testament to the power of stupid characters in horror stories. […]

Read More…

November 6, 2020 Books

Slay: Stories of the Vampire Noire Injects New Life into the Undead

Slay: Stories of the Vampire Noire, edited by Nicole Givens Kurtz, is a collection of vampire short stories as diverse as the African diaspora itself. […]

Read More…

October 26, 2020 Books

Tiny Nightmares is an Anthology That Knows What Scares You

Tiny Nightmares, edited by Nadxieli Nieto and Lincoln Michel, is an anthology of bite-size horror stories that are short on word count and long on impact. […]

Read More…

October 22, 2020 Books

Edendale Weaves a Tale of Climate Change and Control

Read our review of Edendale by Jacquelyn Stolos, a new ecohorror novel about four roommates navigating wildfire season in Los Angeles. […]

Read More…

October 20, 2020 Books

Jo Kaplan’s It Will Just Be Us Reads Like a Funhouse Mirror From Hell

Jo Kaplan’s new haunted house supernatural thriller contains shades of Shirley Jackson – read our full review. […]

Read More…

October 9, 2020 Books

Stephen Graham Jones’ Night of the Mannequins is a Supernatural Slasher Delight

Stephen Graham Jones’ newest novella, Night of the Mannequins, is equal parts slasher, creature feature, and coming-of-age story – read our full review! […]

Read More…

October 6, 2020 Books

Vacation Turns Sinister Yet Disappointing in The Rental

The Rental, Dave Franco’s directorial debut, feels a lot like a disappointing Airbnb—pretty but kind of empty, and not really scary once you’re in it. […]

Read More…

September 29, 2020 On Screen

Jeremy Robert Johnson’s The Loop is a Tense, Brutal, Emotional Thrill Ride

Read our review of The Loop, a survive-the-night horror/thriller novel with surprising emotional stakes. […]

Read More…

September 28, 2020 Books

Tales From the Backlist: The Problem with T.E.D. Klein’s The Ceremonies

T.E.D. Klein’s influential 1984 novel is revered by authors and readers alike – but one narrative choice lays bare much of what was wrong with ’80s horror. […]

Read More…

September 22, 2020 Books

Why Host is the Horror Movie We Need Right Now

Shudder’s innovative video-chat horror movie is precisely what we all need in quarantine. […]

Read More…

September 9, 2020 On Screen

Tales From the Backlist: Let’s Go Play At The Adams’ Is The Book You Were Warned About

Mendal W. Johnson’s infamous novel about five children who imprison and torture their babysitter is as brutally efficient now as it was when it was first published. […]

Read More…

August 27, 2020 Books

Review: Lovecraft Country Creates a Whole New System of Reality in “Sundown”

The much-anticipated premiere of HBO’s Lovecraft Country adaptation offers scares of both the mundane and supernatural varieties. […]

Read More…

August 19, 2020 On Screen

A Rollercoaster of Timelines Haunt Ju-On: Origins

The Ju-On franchise’s first episodic entry is an interesting, if slightly disappointing, exercise in TV horror. […]

Read More…

July 24, 2020 On Screen

You Should Have Left is Half of a Great Horror Movie

A modernist haunted house story, You Should Have Left has a lot of potential but doesn’t quite stick the landing. Read our full review. […]

Read More…

June 25, 2020 On Screen

In Mona Awad’s Bunny, Your MFA Won’t Save You

Body horror meets Heathers in Bunny, a dark fairy tale from Mona Awad that explores and skewers witchcraft, female friendships, and MFA programs. […]

Read More…

June 24, 2020 Books

Scream, Queen!: A Documentary About Fandom, Accountability and Queer History

Scream, Queen! tracks what A Nightmare on Elm Street II: Freddy’s Revenge did to actor Mark Patton’s career & serves as a history of homophobia in Hollywood. […]

Read More…

June 23, 2020 On Screen

Shirley Provides a Window Into Jackson’s Own Haunted House

Meditations on lost girls, small towns, & female intimacy in Shirley, a fictionalized movie of Shirley Jackson’s life, on Hulu. […]

Read More…

June 9, 2020 On Screen

Revisiting the Ocean House Hotel, Bloodlines’ Scariest Level

How Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines turned exploring the abandoned Ocean House Hotel into an all-time classic of horror gaming. […]

Read More…

May 19, 2020 On Screen

What We Do in the Shadows is Even Better in Season Two

The faux-documentary vampire series both expands and deepens its mythos (and the bounds of the horror-comedy genre) in its second season on FX. […]

Read More…

May 13, 2020 On Screen

The Agony and the Ecstasy of Color Out of Space

No flesh shall be spared in this psychedelic Lovecraft adaptation from iconic goth-shaman director Richard Stanley and the producers of 2018’s similarly lurid horror hit, Mandy. A relatively straightforward science […]

Read More…

February 11, 2020 On Screen