Ellen Datlow’s Body Shocks Will Make You Uncomfortable in Your Own Skin

Body Shocks, edited by Ellen Datlow, contains 29 skin-crawling tales of body horror from Carmen Maria Machado, Brian Evenson, Alyssa Wong, and many more. […]

Read More…

October 19, 2021 Books

Old Ghosts and New Traumas Stalk Stuart Neville’s House of Ashes

In The House of Ashes, Stuart Neville’s first standalone novel in almost a decade, the greatest gift that one woman can offer another is to believe her. […]

Read More…

October 18, 2021 Books

Cackle is a Darkly Charming Tale of Finding Magic in Female Friendship

Cackle, the sophomore novel from Rachel Harrison, is a witty tale of friendship and finding yourself – with a dark twist. […]

Read More…

October 12, 2021 Books

Alex Pheby’s Trope-Shredding Mordew is Gothic Fantasy at Its Finest

Mordew’s insistence on subverting familiar genre tropes about power and magic makes it a can’t-miss read for dark fantasy fans. […]

Read More…

September 20, 2021 Books

My Heart is a Chainsaw is an Anthem for Slasher Superfans

Stephen Graham Jones’ newest novel, My Heart is a Chainsaw, is a masterclass in voice and character and a love letter to the slasher genre. […]

Read More…

September 8, 2021 Books

Revelator Captures the Horror of Men, Monsters, and the Women Caught In Between

Daryl Gregory’s unnerving Southern Gothic novel Revelator is a beautiful, disquieting work of folk horror about the evil that men do. […]

Read More…

August 31, 2021 Books

Red X is a Relentless Urban Nightmare Full of Heart and Righteous Fury

David Demchuk’s Red X traces a series of murders in Toronto’s Gay Village that span centuries, perpetrated and aided by forces both supernatural and mundane. […]

Read More…

August 30, 2021 Books

Hailey Piper’s Unfortunate Elements of My Anatomy is an Eclectic, Absorbing Short Story Collection

Hailey Piper showcases her versatility and talent across eighteen lively, dark stories in Unfortunate Elements of My Anatomy. […]

Read More…

August 25, 2021 Books

Megan Abbott’s The Turnout Stars Ballerina Sisters in a Horrifying Dance of Sex and Death

Megan Abbott’s latest novel, The Turnout, set at a ballet academy run by polar-opposite sisters, doesn’t shy away from the gruesome truths and secrets between women. […]

Read More…

August 23, 2021 Books

The Scariest Thing About False Positive is How Wrong It Gets Infertility

False Positive gets the horrors of infertility wrong at every turn and proves to be a disappointing heir to Rosemary’s Baby. […]

Read More…

August 17, 2021 On Screen

The Book of Accidents Cements Chuck Wendig’s Status as a Master of Horror

This book has two fucking prologues. Two. You may just want to stand back a few feet from this review, because it might get a little cussy and I tend […]

Read More…

July 20, 2021 Books

Big Dark Hole is Jeffrey Ford at His Hallucinatory Best

Jeffrey Ford’s latest story collection a heartfelt, weird, and melancholy tour of the furthest reaches of the author’s imagination. […]

Read More…

July 15, 2021 Books

Moon Lake is a Genre-Bending Horror Noir with Heart

Joe R. Lansdale’s newest novel Moon Lake blends horror, crime, noir, and southern gothic in a tantalizing summer read. […]

Read More…

June 22, 2021 Books

Fried Barry is a Psychedelic Horror-Comedy Alien Sojourn Through Cape Town

Fried Barry is a bizarre, fun, weirdly optimistic tour of Cape Town’s underworld through the eyes of an interstellar visitor. […]

Read More…

June 16, 2021 On Screen

White Picket Fences Make for Bad Neighbors in Whisper Down the Lane

Clay McLeod Chapman’s Whisper Down the Lane is a chilling tale of hysteria, groupthink, and the cycles of behavior we can never quite escape. […]

Read More…

May 5, 2021 Books

V. Castro’s Goddess of Filth is a Tale of Possession Gone Right

Colonialism, faith, heritage, sexuality, and agency intersect (often brutally) in V. Castro’s new short novel, Goddess of Filth. […]

Read More…

May 4, 2021 Books

Isabel Yap’s Never Have I Ever Strikes at the Heart of Folkloric Horror

Isabel Yap’s Never Have I Ever is an outstanding short fiction collection that occupies the space where horror, surrealism, and folklore overlap. […]

Read More…

April 5, 2021 Books

Eden Royce’s Root Magic is the Book I Needed Growing Up

Eden Royce’s middle grade novel is a triumph of storytelling, representation, and Black childhood – read our full review. […]

Read More…

March 22, 2021 Books

No Good Mitzvah Goes Unpunished in The Vigil

The Vigil is a taut, terrifying religious horror movie told from a point of view rarely seen in the genre. […]

Read More…

March 5, 2021 On Screen

Faith, Trauma, and Memory in The Children of Red Peak

Craig DiLouie’s newest novel, The Children of Red Peak, is a cult horror story that digs deep into grief, survivor’s guilt, and the need for answers. […]

Read More…

March 3, 2021 Books

The Science of Women in Horror Brilliantly Dissects Horror Movie Tropes and Traditions

From final girls to femme fatales, The Science of Women in Horror is a great dissection of tropes and traditions in horror movies. […]

Read More…

February 23, 2021 Books, On Screen

Hotel Horror Makes Itself at Home in Kourosh Ahari’s The Night

You can check out any time you like: Kourosh Ahari’s The Night foregrounds personal horror in a deeply creepy hotel. Read our full review. […]

Read More…

February 16, 2021 On Screen

In Cynthia Pelayo’s Children of Chicago, A City’s Darkness Shines

In Children of Chicago, Cynthia Pelayo has written a horrifying true crime fairy tale grounded in Chicago’s criminal past. […]

Read More…

February 10, 2021 Books

The Route of Ice and Salt is a Vampire Classic Back From the Dead

José Luis Zárate’s queer Dracula novella, The Route of Ice and Salt, is available in English for the first time–here’s why you should read it. […]

Read More…

January 20, 2021 Books

The Blade Between Puts A Human Face on Gods And Monsters

The Blade Between, Sam J. Miller’s relentless new novel, offers a much-needed fresh spin on the gothic, folk horror, and horror-noir genres. […]

Read More…

December 21, 2020 Books

The Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve is a No-Skips Anthology

Ellen Datlow’s Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve continues to deliver, with phenomenal short horror fiction from 22 talented authors. […]

Read More…

December 18, 2020 Books

Secret Santa Gives the Greatest Gifts of All: Christmas Horror and ‘80s Nostalgia

Andrew Shaffer’s Secret Santa is a delightful horror comedy set in the 80s publishing scene. […]

Read More…

December 14, 2020 Books

Blue Light of the Screen Is a Hauntingly Good Horror Memoir

Claire Cronin’s book is a fascinating blend of memoir and horror criticism – a must for any horror fan who likes the why just as much as the what. […]

Read More…

December 10, 2020 Books

We Hear Voices Plots an Eerie Pandemic Mystery

Evie Green’s debut novel, We Hear Voices, is an unsettling blend of mystery, social drama, creepy kids, and pandemic thriller. […]

Read More…

December 8, 2020 Books

Is it Demons or Bad Pipes? Reviewing Evil’s First Season

Evil is a spooky procedural that mixes technology and faith, perfect for fans of The X-Files and Black Mirror – read our full review. […]

Read More…

December 4, 2020 On Screen

Welcome Back to Skillute, WA: S.P. Miskowski’s The Best of Both Worlds

With The Best of Both Worlds, S.P. Miskowski introduces us to more residents of her fictional Pacific Northwest town, where nothing is what it seems. […]

Read More…

November 24, 2020 Books

This is Not a Ghost Story Delivers Contemporary Chills

Andrea Portes’ YA horror novel is a great entry to the horror genre for new readers. […]

Read More…

November 18, 2020 Books

Tales From the Backlist: In The Beast of Vaccarès, the Spirit of a Lonely Place

Jóusè d’Arbaud’s 1926 novella, now translated into English for the first time, is a classic of Provençal literature & a must-read for fans of Arthur Machen. […]

Read More…

November 12, 2020 Books

Lovecraft Country Serves Up a Season of Multifaceted Horror

The first season of Misha Green’s adaptation of Matt Ruff’s novel is a mixed bag, with stunning performances and storytelling stumbles – read our review. […]

Read More…

November 9, 2020 On Screen

The Nesting Is a Gothic Thriller with a Memorable, Modern Voice

C.J. Cooke’s Norwegian gothic novel is an entertaining read and a testament to the power of stupid characters in horror stories. […]

Read More…

November 6, 2020 Books

Slay: Stories of the Vampire Noire Injects New Life into the Undead

Slay: Stories of the Vampire Noire, edited by Nicole Givens Kurtz, is a collection of vampire short stories as diverse as the African diaspora itself. […]

Read More…

October 26, 2020 Books

Tiny Nightmares is an Anthology That Knows What Scares You

Tiny Nightmares, edited by Nadxieli Nieto and Lincoln Michel, is an anthology of bite-size horror stories that are short on word count and long on impact. […]

Read More…

October 22, 2020 Books

Edendale Weaves a Tale of Climate Change and Control

Read our review of Edendale by Jacquelyn Stolos, a new ecohorror novel about four roommates navigating wildfire season in Los Angeles. […]

Read More…

October 20, 2020 Books

Jo Kaplan’s It Will Just Be Us Reads Like a Funhouse Mirror From Hell

Jo Kaplan’s new haunted house supernatural thriller contains shades of Shirley Jackson – read our full review. […]

Read More…

October 9, 2020 Books

Stephen Graham Jones’ Night of the Mannequins is a Supernatural Slasher Delight

Stephen Graham Jones’ newest novella, Night of the Mannequins, is equal parts slasher, creature feature, and coming-of-age story – read our full review! […]

Read More…

October 6, 2020 Books